New To Duplicate
ACBL Unit 550
Santa Cruz Bridge Center
2450 17th Avenue, Suite 200
Santa Cruz,CA 95062
Unit 550 Directory Lookup
Update your information Member Look Up
Masterpoint Winners
Click Thu Eve (04/25) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Irma Andrews - Peter Andrews 55.00 1st A 0.60
John Walker - Jonni Faircrest 53.00 2/3rd A 0.36
Howard Feldstein - Karen Schamberg 53.00 2/3rd A 0.36
Masterpoint Winners
Click Thu AM (04/25) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
John Benich - Judith Murdock 63.19 1st A 0.72
Angie Millslagle - Carol Cowen 60.42 1st B 0.56
Sydney Reuben - Thomas Burke 59.03 2nd B 0.39
Judy Osborn - Rick Zinman 54.17 3rd B 0.28
Masterpoint Winners
Click Wed Eve (04/24) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Joy Gift - Sharol Sevilla 57.90 1st A 0.36
Charlotte Sherman - Fortunee Cohen 57.04 1st A 0.36
Carol Cowen - Gloria Reiss 56.10 2nd A 0.25
Janet Loops - Lester Loops 55.26 2nd A 0.25
Richard Pearce - Susan Pearce 49.38 1st B 0.20
Betsy Allen - Shellie Roy 47.35 2/3rd B 0.12
Kenneth Girouard - Lou Browning 47.35 2/3rd B 0.12
Masterpoint Winners
Click Wed Aft (04/24) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Carol Maggipinto - Ken Gamble 65.56 1st A 1.20
James Slinger - Peter Gelfand 58.15 2/3rd A 0.72
Charles Pender - Richard Wasserstrom 58.15 2/3rd A 0.72
Donald Seldeen - Robin Evenden 57.04 4th A 0.42
Jerry Kibbey - Laura McCabe 50.37 1st B 0.56
Ginger Stone - Joanne Bruno 46.30 2nd B 0.39
Bruce Dau - Kenneth Martin 45.93 3rd B 0.28
Masterpoint Winners
Click Tue Eve (04/23) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Josh Karter - Rick Zinman 55.00 1st A 0.48
Carol Avenmarg - Suzanne Haley 54.00 2nd A 0.34
Judy Osborn - Robert Johnson 53.00 2nd B 0.22
Masterpoint Winners
Click Tue AM (04/23) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Kenneth Johnson - Vincent McLoughlin 60.42 1st A 1.30
Ann Ottenberg - Sherry Gilbreath 58.75 2nd A 0.91
James Slinger - Richard Wasserstrom 58.33 3rd A 0.65
Carol Avenmarg - Margaret Suddards 55.00 1st B 0.72
Irma Andrews - John Hullman 54.17 2nd B 0.50
Pamela Benz - Peter Andrews 53.33 3rd B 0.36
Bonnie Simon - Marilyn Diola 52.08 2nd C 0.34
Masterpoint Winners
Click Mon Eve (04/22) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Darby Kremers - Linda Downing 59.92 1st A 0.64
Diane Gunter - Joanne Turnquist 56.75 1st A 0.64
Angie Millslagle - Katherine Beiers 56.35 2nd A 0.45
Eric Stolzberg - Mark Riley 55.95 2/3rd A 0.39
Chris Tainty - David Harken 55.95 2/3rd A 0.39
Alicia Keen - Mary Dean 53.97 3rd A 0.32
Andrew Calciano - Marilyn Calciano 52.78 1st C 0.18
Kenneth Girouard - Lou Browning 48.02 2nd B 0.21
Masterpoint Winners
Click Mon Aft (04/22) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Bharat Kamdar - Hemant Vaidya 58.80 1st A 1.00
Ann Ottenberg - Jeff Belden 54.63 2/3rd A 0.60
Carol Avenmarg - Dorothy Malutta 54.63 2/3rd A 0.60
Bruce Dau - Jim Martin 54.17 4th A 0.35
Masterpoint Winners
Click Fri AM (04/19) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Bruce Dau - Kenneth Martin 57.50 1st A 0.70
Ken Llacera - Mick Friedberg 56.99 1st A 0.70
Liesel Sabloff - Marilyn Diola 55.61 2nd A 0.49
Alan Chase - Carol Avenmarg 54.81 3rd A 0.35
Richard Hill - Robin Evenden 51.74 2nd A 0.49
Alicia Keen - Robert Johnson 51.43 3rd A 0.35
Masterpoint Winners
Click Thu Eve (04/18) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Carol Avenmarg - Jan Winham 64.88 1st OA 2.04
Alan Chase - Howard Feldstein 53.57 2nd OA 1.53
Henrietta Cooper - Mark Hasey 52.98 3rd OA 1.15
Josh Karter - Rick Zinman 47.54 1st SC 0.24
Masterpoint Winners
Click Thu AM (04/18) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Jonni Faircrest - Judy Osborn 58.00 1st A 0.48
Alicia Keen - Robert Johnson 55.44 2nd A 0.34
John Walker - Thomas Burke 51.00 2nd B 0.22
News Headlines
Click here to view all articles.

Patience & Teaching

Trying to teach or give advice during a game is not effective and might even be seen as a violation of ACBL rules (see Law 74.A.2, Etiquette of Word and Action: A player should carefully avoid any remark or action that might cause annoyance or embarrassment to another player or might interfere with the enjoyment of the game.)

  • Don't teach at the table; waiting until the game is over is much more effective
  • Giving advice during the game is bad strategy, typically unwanted and could easily be wrong
  • Talking about a board/result often reaveals details of the board to other players
  • Even well-meaning advice might be taken as criticism, which is unethical, rude and a violation of the Laws

Unit 550 Mission: As the American Contract Bridge League (ACBL) of Santa Cruz County, Unit 550, we promote the game of bridge, support the bridge clubs at the Santa Cruz Bridge Center (SCBC), and provide a pleasant, fun environment for learning and playing bridge.

Game Calendar & Schedules: At the SCBC, there are daily and evening games; some are open to players of all levels while others are reserved for newcomers, novice and/or intermediate players. Contact any of the Bridge Club Owners listed below or call the SCBC with questions or partner requests. Clicking Schedule lists the regular schedule. Clicking Calendar displays the games and classes this month with changes from the regular schedule.

Game Results: Click Results on this page or on the in the Calendar.

Bridge ClubO w n e r / D i r e c t o rP h o n e
Bid 'em UpNancy Wainer(831) 465-1234
MonarchMark Hasey(831) 427-2112
Bridge4FunJan Winham(831) 291-0479
Santa CruzUnit 550 Board of Directors(831) 465-1102
Bridge BecauseRobin Evenden(831) 462-5367
FinesseMary Pulliam(831) 295-2051
ScratchJonni Faircrest(831) 531-8375
Santa Cruz DuplicateKen Llacera(831) 426-4949

Classes: Interested in learning or improving your bridge? Check out current classes at Learn Bridge Classes

Masterpoints & Game Winners: Significant bridge accomplishments by our members are found under Accolades; including a listing of all Unit 550 Life Masters.

If you have any questions about games, lessons, or the SCBC, please call us at (831) 465-1102 or send us an email at

We look forward to seeing you at the tables!

Your Unit 550 Board of Directors