West Marine Building
Unit 550
Santa Cruz Waves
Santa Cruz Bridge Club
Natural Bridges State Park
Santa Cruz Bridge Club
Santa Cruz Bridge Center
2450 17th Avenue, Suite 200
Santa Cruz,CA 95062
Unit 550 Directory Lookup
Update your information Member Look Up
News Headlines
Click here to view all articles.

Patience & Teaching

Trying to teach or give advice during a game is not effective and might even be seen as a violation of ACBL rules (see Law 74.A.2, Etiquette of Word and Action: A player should carefully avoid any remark or action that might cause annoyance or embarrassment to another player or might interfere with the enjoyment of the game.)

  • Don't teach at the table; waiting until the game is over is much more effective
  • Giving advice during the game is bad strategy, typically unwanted and could easily be wrong
  • Talking about a board/result often reaveals details of the board to other players
  • Even well-meaning advice might be taken as criticism, which is unethical, rude and a violation of the Laws

Making Our Game Better

Please, if you are sick or just feeling ill, please stay home so you don't pass it on.

Here's a couple of tips to make our game better and more pleasant for everyone:

  • Arrive at least 10 minutes before game time
  • Check your cell phone before the game starts and turn it off or on silence
  • Make your lead before recording the contract
  • Delay any discussion of the previous hand until you have a break or after the game

One of our newer players adds these points:

  • Call the Director, rather then trying to resolve a problem
  • Allow the Director to assess the siuation and explain the ruling
  • Bid and play in tempo so as not to give unauthorized information
  • Enter the score in Bridgemate instead of "chatting" about the hand with partner or opponents
Masterpoint Winners
Click Wed Eve (06/20) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Jacci Sterling - Tad Sterling 56.25 1/3rd OA 0.69
Joy Gift - Sharol Sevilla 56.25 1/3rd OA 0.69
John Walker - Laura McCabe 56.25 1st OB 0.75
Carol Cowen - Gina Brown 51.04 2nd OB 0.56
Betsy Allen - Carolyn Watanabe 48.96 3rd OB 0.42
Marilyn Payne - Pete Thomas 47.92 2nd SC 0.14
Masterpoint Winners
Click Wed Aft (06/20) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Donald Seldeen - Robin Evenden 60.65 1st A 1.00
Ken Gamble - Mick Friedberg 59.26 2nd A 0.70
Kristin Smith - Phyllis Cramblet 53.24 3rd A 0.50
Rick Zinman - Steven Smith 51.39 4th A 0.35
Masterpoint Winners
Click Tue Eve (06/19) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Josh Karter - Rick Zinman 61.42 1st A 0.96
Kristin Smith - Margaret Suddards 58.25 2nd A 0.67
John Wesolowski - Thomas Burke 56.17 3rd A 0.48
Alicia Keen - Robin McDuff 53.25 4th A 0.34
John Benich - Marti Jones 52.92 5th A 0.19
Masterpoint Winners
Click Tue AM (06/19) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Kenneth Johnson - Vincent McLoughlin 63.69 1st A 0.70
Jonni Faircrest - Lani Ray 58.33 2nd A 0.49
Rick Zinman - Steven Smith 58.33 1st A 0.70
Kenneth Martin - Richard Wasserstrom 58.04 2nd A 0.49
John Hullman - Pamela Benz 54.76 3rd A 0.35
Malcolm Sprott - Richard Hill 50.30 3rd A 0.35
Alicia Keen - Kristin Smith 48.51 2nd C 0.28
Fred Velez - John Benich 44.05 1st C 0.16
Masterpoint Winners
Click Mon Eve (06/18) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Darby Kremers - Linda Downing 61.50 1st A 0.66
Angie Millslagle - Patricia McNeal 59.08 2nd A 0.46
John Wesolowski - Judy Osborn 58.06 3rd A 0.33
Michael Kerner - Steven Smith 57.81 4th A 0.23
Andrew Calciano - Marilyn Calciano 54.08 4th B 0.19
Masterpoint Winners
Click Mon Aft (06/18) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Ken Gamble - Nancy Wainer 64.58 1st A 1.10
Ann Ottenberg - Stanna Balassi 57.81 2/3rd A 0.66
Carol Avenmarg - Dorothy Malutta 57.81 2/3rd A 0.66
Joanne Wicker - Kenneth Johnson 54.69 4th A 0.39
Masterpoint Winners
Click Sun Aft (06/17) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Jan Winham - Joanne Nelson 52.32 1st A 0.64
Leslie Davidson - Margaret Suddards 51.94 2nd A 0.45
Alicia Keen - John Oppenheimer 50.97 3rd A 0.32
Masterpoint Winners
Click Fri AM (06/15) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Gary Oing - John Benich 64.29 1st A 0.70
Carol Avenmarg - Kenneth Martin 61.61 1st A 0.70
Annemarie Moller - John Hullman 56.85 2nd A 0.49
Ken Llacera - Mick Friedberg 56.55 3rd A 0.35
Phyllis Cramblet - Sherry Gilbreath 54.17 2/3rd A 0.42
Richard Wasserstrom - Rick Zinman 54.17 2/3rd A 0.42
Masterpoint Winners
Click Thu Eve (06/14) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Pat Emmons - Thomas Motter 54.17 1/2nd A 0.13
Lou Browning - Sheri Norbosh 54.17 1/2nd A 0.13
Lori Lee Biagi - Valerie Tudor 45.83 1st A 0.15
Masterpoint Winners
Click Thu Eve (06/14) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Carol Avenmarg - Kristin Smith 59.26 1st A 1.50
Josh Karter - Rick Zinman 56.94 2nd A 1.12
John Oppenheimer - Steven Smith 53.70 3rd A 0.80
Alan Chase - Robin McDuff 52.31 4th A 0.56
Masterpoint Winners
Click Thu AM (06/14) for complete results.
Partnership Pct Rank MP
Sydney Reuben - Thomas Burke 60.71 1st A 0.64
Kathy O'Neil Traback - Russell Farkouh 54.76 2nd A 0.45
Annemarie Moller - Joanne Bruno 53.57 3rd A 0.32
Paula Cole - Suzanne Haley 48.21 2nd B 0.28

Who We Are: We are seven bridge clubs authorized within Unit 550. We host ACBL-sanctioned bridge games every day at the SCBC. Our goal is to give you the best bridge playing environment.

Games: There are daily and evening games open to players of all levels with some games reserved for novice and/or intermediate players. Some games feature an optional meal at a nominal cost. If you need information about a game or a partner, please contact any one of us listed below, call us at the SCBC, or send us an email at scbc.director@gmail.com.

Bridge ClubO w n e r / D i r e c t o rP h o n e
Bid 'em UpNancy Wainer(831) 465-1234
MonarchMark Hasey(831) 427-2112
Bridge4FunJan Winham(831) 291-0479
Santa CruzUnit 550 Board of Directors(831) 465-1102
Bridge BecauseRobin Evenden(831) 462-5367
FinesseMary Pulliam(831) 295-2051
ScratchJonni Faircrest(831) 531-8375
Santa Cruz DuplicateKen Llacera(831) 426-4949

Schedule: View our regular schedule by clicking on Schedule. Alternatively, you can click on Calendar to view specific games for any day, meals offered and changes to the regular schedule.

Results: Game results are immediately available via the Results dropdown menu. You can also view a game's results by going to the Calendar and clicking on (includes hand records) or (results only).

Classes: A variety of lessons on bridge for beginning social players as well as experienced duplicate players wanting to reach the "next level" are available. Use the Learn Bridge dropdown menu at the left to see our current classes. Other learning materials are listed as well. The Calendar provides specific days for offered classes.

Note: Please observe our non-smoking, fragrance-free environment.

We look forward to seeing you at the tables!

Nancy, Jan, Mark, Robin, Mary and Jonni

Images of Santa Cruz waters provided by: